Fact Checking 101 and the Role of the Media
Posted: January 12, 2012 Filed under: The Media SUCKS, the villagers | Tags: the audacity of the truth, the media, the NEW York Times 14 CommentsOne thing about the media that has truly alarmed me is the way that it parrots lies asserted by politicians and public figures without any context. Today, the NYT asked for feed back about this. The question is weirdly put, but is still worth a response. Fact checking isn’t being a “truth vigilante” imho. It’s about providing context to the story and it’s about informing your reader. Reporters should not just be parrots of political convenience. They should report more than verbatim comments.
I’m looking for reader input on whether and when New York Times news reporters should challenge “facts” that are asserted by newsmakers they write about.
One example mentioned recently by a reader: As cited in an Adam Liptak article on the Supreme Court, a court spokeswoman said Clarence Thomas had “misunderstood” a financial disclosure form when he failed to report his wife’s earnings from the Heritage Foundation. The reader thought it not likely that Mr. Thomas “misunderstood,” and instead that he simply chose not to report the information.
Another example: on the campaign trail, Mitt Romney often says President Obama has made speeches “apologizing for America,” a phrase to which Paul Krugman objected in a December 23 column arguing that politics has advanced to the “post-truth” stage.
As an Op-Ed columnist, Mr. Krugman clearly has the freedom to call out what he thinks is a lie. My question for readers is: should news reporters do the same?
If so, then perhaps the next time Mr. Romney says the president has a habit of apologizing for his country, the reporter should insert a paragraph saying, more or less:
“The president has never used the word ‘apologize’ in a speech about U.S. policy or history. Any assertion that he has apologized for U.S. actions rests on a misleading interpretation of the president’s words.”
Yes. I think that’s appropriate. I think a lot of people read it in print and assume it wouldn’t be printed if it was a baldface lie. What do you think?
Surprise! Fox News Looking to Hire Herman Cain
Posted: December 9, 2011 Filed under: Republican politics, The Media SUCKS | Tags: Bill Shine, Fox News, Herman Cain, Sean Hannity 19 Comments<> I know you’ll all be shocked to learn that Fox News is interested in putting Herman Cain on their airwaves. From The Caucus Blog:
“He is interesting,” Bill Shine, Fox News’s executive vice president for programming said in response to an e-mail inquiring whether the network had any interest in bringing the former Godfather’s Pizza chief executive on as a contributor.
Mr. Shine noted that while “there is nothing in the works,” Mr. Cain will continue to appear on Fox as a guest, which he did most recently on Thursday evening. These were Fox News’s first public comments on Mr. Cain’s possible future with the network.
Thursday’s appearance, on Sean Hannity’s program, kicked up fresh speculation about that future. Mr. Hannity seemed to suggest as much when he said: “What might be next for Herman Cain? Because I have no doubt that there is a TV-radio future if you wanted one.”
Cain will be on Hannity’s show again on Monday to discuss the ABC Republican Debate to be held tomorrow night. I guess this means that Cain’s campaign was successful: he’ll be on Fox and that will enable him to sell more books.
Here’s an idea for Cain’s upcoming show. He should invite women whom he has sexually harassed and/or sexually assaulted to appear on the program to debate whether what he did to them was “inappropriate” or not.
More Journalistic Malpractice from WAPO
Posted: November 17, 2011 Filed under: The Media SUCKS, the villagers, We are so F'd | Tags: Journalistic Malpractice, Lori Montgomery, WAPO 14 CommentsPredictably, WAPO propaganda specialist Lori Montgomery and her cronies have produced more junk journalism based on bias instead of any actual knowledge of economics or interviews with folks that would actually know about economics. This time she teamed up with Rosalind Helderman to push her same disinformation about Social Security within the framework of the super committee. Then there’s the added confidence fairy story. It’s about time we consider WAPO to be a source of malinformation and place it on newsstands in the same category as Globe Magazine. Well, maybe not quite the same category. At least the Globe only spins lies about celebrities and alien invasions. Can WAPO just turn their coverage of the federal budget over to Pete Peterson and at least be honest about its obvious dependence on biased think tanks instead of real economics? Why do we have to suffer through bad writers like Lori Montgomery when we can just cut out the middle man? Why hide the real source of this nonsense?
Even as supercommittee members struggled to chart a path to a compromise that would not alienate their respective political bases, a bipartisan group of lawmakers from the House and the Senate planned to renew a call Wednesday for the panel to pursue a more ambitious deal that would require major surgery to Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security, as well as historic tax increases.
Yup. Just what we need. More ambitious cuts that send us straight to a depression. As usual, WAPO writers just can’t help wrongly inserting Social Security into any talk of the federal deficit. How many times do actual economists need to point out that Social Security is a stand alone program with its own source of financing?
Robert Kuttner of the American Prospect shreds WAPO and its biased coverage. WAPO also continues to spew the confidence fairy nonsense. Some how, every one will feel all snug and warm and the economy will recover if we take money away from the vast majority of American households to protect the comfortable few. Wow, just imagine the need for the safety net programs if we downgraded the 1% from filthy stinking rich to stinking rich. Whatever would happen to sales at Tiffany and Mercedes Benz dealerships? Oh, the humanity! Oh, the economic devastation! Hully Gee! WAPO just keeps making up these story lines!
Wednesday’s Washington Post deserves some kind of perverse award for advocacy journalism—in this case, for advocating the proposition that dire economic consequences will ensue if the congressional Super Committee fails to cut a deal for drastic deficit reduction. This is, of course, one side of an argument.
Those on the other side, including myself, have argued that austerity in a deep recession makes no economic sense and that as a matter of politics, the Obama administration would be far better advised to let the automatic sequester formula take effect, knowing that it would have to be reopened because of Republicans’ horror of deep defense cuts and the expiration of the Bush tax cuts.
Moreover, Social Security does not belong in this conversation, and Democrats are better off, substantively and politically, defending it against Republican proposed cuts rather than lumping it in with budget talks.
But I digress. The Post has been an editorial champion of the Super Committee and austerity politics, and of the bogus claim that Social Security is partly responsible for the current deficit, which has seeped into the news coverage of the predictably biased Lori Montgomery.
In yesterday’s Post, the lead piece on deficit politics, by Montgomery and Rosalind Henderman, includes the subtitle, “Pressure mounts from all sides as deadline nears.” Reading the piece, we learn that “talks have focused on a tax package of as much as $650 billion over the next decade”—a Republican claim that the Post took at face value in order to drum up support for the deal. The Republican arithmetic has been thoroughly demolished by Bob Greenstein, whose analysis was just a keystroke away from Montgomery’s wishful keyboard.
Greenstein and Horney’s analysis at CEPR demonstrates that the Toomey plan is not a balanced approach to deficit reduction. As I said yesterday, it is a bait and switch or
some kind of Wimpynomics. Toomey will gladly “reform” taxes Tuesday for devastating budget cuts in social programs today. Nearly all the Republican plans begin with saving the Bush Tax Cuts which have done all kinds of damage to the budget and have had little impact on the economy. Republican suggestions include some weird bargain that would cut spending immediately and postpone overhauling the tax code. I still argue that the Bush Tax Cuts must go or we will be permanently locked into a death spiral.
Senator Pat Toomey and other Republicans on the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction (“Supercommittee”) portray their new offer to raise close to $300 billion in revenues (under a plan to reduce deficits by about $1.5 trillion over ten years) as a significant concession, and some observers have suggested it represents a welcome first step toward a balanced deficit reduction plan to put the budget on a sustainable path. But a closer examination of the proposal raises grave concerns and indicates that, in fact, it adds little balance.
It uses savings from closing tax loopholes and narrowing other tax expenditures mainly to set tax rates permanently at levels well below those of President Bush’s tax cuts, and to make permanent both the highly preferential treatment of capital gains and dividend income under the Bush tax cuts and the temporary hollowing out of the estate tax for estates of the wealthiest one-quarter of 1 percent of Americans that Congress enacted in late 2010. Consequently, the proposal seems designed to make only a modest revenue contribution toward deficit reduction and then to take revenues off the table for the larger rounds of deficit reduction that must follow. Moreover, even while yielding modest savings, the revenue component would make the package less balanced by conferring large new tax cuts on the wealthiest Americans while forcing low- and middle-income Americans to bear most of the plan’s budget cuts as well as its tax increases.
By permanently locking in tax rates well below the Bush levels, the plan would remove the potential to secure $800 billion in deficit reduction by letting the Bush tax cuts for households with incomes over $250,000 expire on schedule at the end of 2012, and it would remove the leverage that the scheduled expiration of these tax cuts provides to those who seek balanced deficit reduction with a substantial revenue contribution. It also would remove the potential to secure a substantial deficit reduction contribution from tax reform.
The most absurd storyline in WAPO pointed out by Kuttner is that some how the failure of the super committee will act like the Grinch that Stole Christmas. Neil Irwin and Ylan Q. Mui write some absurd piece that suggests that people will be more apt to spend for the holidays–due to the perpetually present confidence fairy–after they completely gut Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid. Wow. That makes absolutely no sense. How would causing income to go down and expenses to go up for seniors cause them to go on a shopping spree? How would it give businesses more confidence knowing congress drained them of a source of revenue–in the case of the medical professions–and decreased the income to their customers? WAPO must have some crazy back-asswards macroeconomic models at play!
I can’t wait for Dean Baker and some other economists to take this on again. At the moment, Baker is taking on how the austerity meme is killing the Euro which–if it happens–will undoubtedly send us right back into a global depression and keep us there for some time. Here’s two short paragraphs that point to the root of all our current economic problems. It’s still a lack of demand brought on by the vast wealth and income destruction caused by banks that overleveraged and engaged in pure speculative activities. Their bad investment portfolios wounded many western economies. This austerity kick will most likely mortally wound us all.
The absurdity of this situation is that the eurozone countries would not need outside support from the BRICs if the ECB was prepared to pursue these policies today. Just as is the case now with the United States, there is no shortage of wealth in the EU, in the sense that it has the ability to produce vastly more goods and services than it is currently producing. The main problem is simply a lack of demand.
We have known how to generate demand since Keynes wrote his masterpiece in the ’30s. However, rather than pursue the simple steps needed to restore the eurozone’s economy to stable growth, the ECB is adhering to an ideological agenda that will destroy the euro and throw the economy into an even more severe recession than the last one. This is an extraordinary tragedy unravelling in slow motion in front of the world.
How much more can our civilization endure of policy via junk science and right wing ideology? How can we actually solve any problems when we have huge national papers basically pushing ignorance agendas? We are so f’d.
Thursday Reads
Posted: November 17, 2011 Filed under: #Occupy and We are the 99 percent!, China, Foreign Affairs, Global Financial Crisis, morning reads, Psychopaths in charge, The Media SUCKS, U.S. Economy, U.S. Military, U.S. Politics, voodoo economics | Tags: assassination jokes, australia, China, crime, European Central Bank, European debt crisis, Karl Rove, Lauren Pierce, Maxine Waters, Nobel Peace Prize, occupy Wall Street, Oscar Ramiro Ortega-Hernandez, University of Texas Austin 18 CommentsGood Morning!
You know the Occupy Movement is having an effect when the propaganda patrol starts trying to pin the “TERRORIST” label on them. From Politico:
If confirmed, this will likely be a much, much bigger image problem than the reports of crime in Occupy encampments:
Authorities suspect [Oscar Ramiro] Ortega-Hernandez] had been in the area for weeks, coming back and forth to the Washington Mall. Before the shooting, he was detained by local police at an abandoned house. U.S. Park Police say Ortega-Hernandez may have spent time with Occupy D.C. protesters.
Ooops! In an update, Politico has to take it back–it turns out authorities couldn’t find a connection. But you just know they’re going to keep trying. And ABC News reported it. Lots of people will take that as gospel and never hear that it wasn’t true.
However a GOP campus leader at the University of Texas Austin responded on Twitter to the news of shots fired at the White House.
Hours after Pennsylvania State Police arrested a 21-year-old Idaho man for allegedly firing a semi-automatic rifle at the White House, the top student official for the College Republicans at the University of Texas tweeted that the idea of assassinating President Obama was “tempting.”
At 2:29 p.m. ET, UT’s Lauren E. Pierce wrote: “Y’all as tempting as it may be, don’t shoot Obama. We need him to go down in history as the WORST president we’ve EVER had! #2012.”
Pierce, the president of the College Republicans at UT Austin, told ABC News the comment was a “joke” and that the “whole [shooting incident] was stupid.” Giggling, she said that an attempted assassination would “only make the situation worse.”
Tee hee hee… this is the future of the GOP?
Maxine Waters is still number one voice of reason in Washington DC. When the propaganda merchants tried to get her to say something disparaging about OWS, here’s how she handled it.
When asked to comment Wednesday about the deaths and crimes that have occurred around Occupy protests being held across the country, Rep. Maxine Waters said “that’s life and it happens.”
“That’s a distraction from the goals of the protesters,” Waters, who says she supports the Occupy movement, told CNSNews.com after an event at the Capitol sponsored by the Congressional Progressive Caucus.
I love that woman!
“Let me just say this: Anytime you have a gathering, homeless people are going to show up,” said Waters. “They will find some comfort in having some other people out on the streets with them. They’re looking for food. Often times, the criminal element will invade. That’s life and it happens, whether it’s with protesters or other efforts that go on in this country.
“So I’m not deterred in my support for them because of these negative kinds of things,” said Waters. “I just want them to work at doing the best job that they can do to bring attention to this economic crisis and the unfairness of the system at this time.”
Way to go, Maxine!
In contrast, Republican ratf^^ker Karl Rove isn’t quite so mature. He really lost his cool on Tuesday night when he was targeted by Occupy protesters and ended up acting pretty childish.
Former Bush political adviser Karl Rove seemed a bit flustered Tuesday night after his speech to Johns Hopkins University was interrupted by a group of about 15 protesters connected to “Occupy Baltimore,” who got under his skin enough to get him cursing.
As he spoke about public debt and attempted to pin America’s economic pain on the Obama administration, a woman shouted out, “Mic check?”
A chorus of voices replied, “Mic check!”
“Karl Rove! Is the architect!” they shouted. “The architect of Occupy Iraq! The architect of Occupy Afghanistan!”
“Here’s the deal,” he replied. “If you believe in free speech then you had a chance to show it.”
“If you believe in right of the First Amendment to free speech then you demonstrate it by shutting up and waiting until the Q & A session right after,” Rove trailed off as supporters applauded.
“You can go ahead and stand in line and have the courage to ask any damn question you want, or you can continue to show that you are a buffoon…” he said, as the group of protesters descended into random shouting. One woman called him a “murderer, ” while others chanted, “We are the 99 percent!”
“No you’re not!” Rove replied, chanting it back at them. “No you’re not! No you’re not! No you’re not!”
Gee, that was fun to watch.
Not that any of the European elites will listen, but Brad Plummer at Wonkbook talked to a number of experts and came to the conclusion that the whole story about it not being legal for the ECB to rescue the European financial system is a bunch of hooey.
European officials keep insisting that the ECB isn’t legally allowed to play savior. On Tuesday, the head of Germany’s Bundesbank called it a violation of European law. The Wall Street Journal argued Wednesday that the European Union’s founding treaty would need to be revamped before the ECB could act as a lender of last resort to countries like Italy. So is this true? Could Europe really melt down because of a few legal niceties?
Not really, say experts. It’s true that the Treaty of Lisbon expressly forbids the European Central Bank from buying up debt instruments directly from countries like Italy and Spain. But, says Richard Portes of the London Business School, there’s nothing to prevent the central bank from buying up Italian and Spanish bonds on the secondary market from other investors.
“If that’s illegal, then officials should already be in jail,” says Portes. “Because they’ve been doing it sporadically since May of 2010.” The problem is that the bank’s current erratic purchases only seem to be creating more uncertainty in the market. “Right now,” says Portes, “nobody’s buying in that market except the ECB.”
Instead, what many experts want the European Central Bank to do is to pledge, loudly and clearly, that it will buy up bonds on the secondary market until, say, Italy’s borrowing costs come down to manageable levels. In theory, says Portes, the central bank wouldn’t even have to make many purchases after that, because expectations would shift and become self-fulfilling. In the near term, investors would stop worrying about whether they’d be repaid for loaning money to countries like Italy, and Italy’s borrowing costs would drop — giving it room to figure out its debt woes. (Granted, that latter step is a daunting task.)
But as Dakinikat wrote a couple of days ago, we’ll probably just have to wait and see what happens when the psychopaths in charge do exactly the opposite of what they should do.
The New York Times has a story this morning about Obama’s commitment of troops to Australia: U.S. Expands Military Ties to Australia, Irritating China.
CANBERRA, Australia — President Obama announced Wednesday that the United States planned to deploy 2,500 Marines in Australia to shore up alliances in Asia, but the move prompted a sharp response from Beijing, which accused Mr. Obama of escalating military tensions in the region.
The agreement with Australia amounts to the first long-term expansion of the American military’s presence in the Pacific since the end of the Vietnam War. It comes despite budget cuts facing the Pentagon and an increasingly worried reaction from Chinese leaders, who have argued that the United States is seeking to encircle China militarily and economically.
“It may not be quite appropriate to intensify and expand military alliances and may not be in the interest of countries within this region,” Liu Weimin, a Foreign Ministry spokesman, said in response to the announcement by Mr. Obama and Prime Minister Julia Gillard of Australia.
Attention Nobel committee: Isn’t it about time to rescind that Peace Prize?
OK, that’s it for me. What are you reading and blogging about today?
What the MSM Isn’t Reporting
Posted: November 5, 2011 Filed under: #Occupy and We are the 99 percent!, Corporate Crime, Democratic Politics, Economy, financial institutions, Main Stream Media, poverty, The Media SUCKS, unemployment | Tags: 2011: days of revolt, Financial Crisis, U.S. Economy 15 CommentsIf anyone had doubts that the mainstream media is deliberately fudging the details on the events surrounding the Occupy Wall St. Movement in general and the Occupy Oakland protests in particular, the following video is unlikely to dissuade you of that doubt. Cenk Uygur was actually in Oakland on Wednesday during the general strike in Oakland—feet on the ground, eyeballs watching the events unfold.
Surprise!
The MSM had no cameras present. They had no cameras available during the Oakland police department’s original raid on protesters, The Night of Tear Gas and Batons. That was also the night of the strange, weird coincidence when both the ABC and CBS helicopters needed refueling at precisely the same moment.
The world is being blanketed by stunning coincidence.
Fortunately, [but to the shock of many Americans] that night was recorded independently, the startling images preserved.
Cenk Uygur [The Young Turks] as some may recall had a brief 6-month stint on MSNBC, an hour-long show during which he was often critical of Barack Obama’s less than stellar record. Uygur’s ratings were excellent but he was called in by management and asked to ‘tone it down.’ Translation? Stop knocking POTUS and the Democratic Party’s slide to the corporate right. Though offered more money to host a new show, Uygur politely turned MSNBC management down, and then went on the record and told his audience what had happened. His slot was quickly filled by the Reverend Al Sharpton, who is happy as a clam to shill for the President and all things Democratic. That would be the ‘My Party, Right or Wrong’ strategy.
For myself? It’s the reason, I no longer watch MSNBC’s 6 pm broadcast.
The You Tube video is revealing—Uygur’s astonishment at how underreported the crowd size in Oakland truly was. But I also found some startling photographs that belie the MSM’s attempt to undercut the groundswell of support this movement is capturing. It’s growing despite the naysayers and critics. It’s growing despite the MSM’s attempt to edit and minimize. It’s growing against all odds.
The Tea Party, of course, wants everyone to go home and get a job. Which a lot of these people would probably happily do if there were jobs to get, the sort that pay a living
wage—that small complication of making enough money to feed yourself and your family, pay the rent, keep the lights on. We were told yesterday morning that unemployment ticked down a tenth of a percentile. That would make the ‘official’ unemployment number 9 instead of 9.1%. And there have been reports coming out suddenly to tell the country that stories of poverty and inequality are vastly exaggerated, even though the Census Bureau’s numbers show 1 in 15 Americans now categorized as the ‘poorest of the poor,’ the biggest jump recorded in 35 years. Btw, that would be 50% or less than the official poverty level, which translates to $5,570 for an individual; $11, 157 for a family of four.
Seems to be an awful lot of sputtering, squirming and spinning going on.
Surely, it’s mere coincidence.











Recent Comments