Live Blog: The Morning After
Posted: October 14, 2015 Filed under: morning reads, U.S. Politics 51 CommentsThe Villagers have weighed in, and they mostly admit that Hillary won last night’s debate going away. Here are a few links I’ve been reading.
Dana Millbank: Hillary Clinton towers over her debate rivals.
Politico: Insiders: A runaway victory for Clinton. After her performance in the first presidential debate, six in 10 Democrats say Joe Biden should not run.
Seventy-nine percent of Democratic insiders surveyed said she dominated her four opponents onstage. Fifty-four percent of Republicans said the same. “Not even close,” an unaffiliated New Hampshire Democrat said. “Hillary crushed it tonight.”
“I think that everyone walked into this debate looking for her to make a mistake, and she didn’t,” an Iowa Democrat said. “On top of that, Sanders’ lack of preparation showed, and O’Malley was trying too hard to look presidential to be effective.”
Marveled a New Hampshire Republican, “She stood out as a leader, charismatic and personal. It may have been an out-of-body experience.”
John Heilemann: Hillary Clinton Runs the Table in Vegas Debate. Simply put, the Democratic front-runner put her competition to shame.
Mark Halperin: Grading the Democratic Debate: Hillary Clinton Schools Her Rivals
Margaret Talev: What the Democratic Debate Means for Joe Biden.
The Guardian: Democratic debate: Clinton remains in command as Sanders stumbles on guns – as it happened.
Politico: Clinton crushes it.
Jonathan Chait: The Hillary Clinton Panic May Have Just Ended. (F-you, Chait!)
What are you reading and hearing?






Thanks for the summary. A New York Times story by Patrick Healy said “After she crisply explained that she made a ‘mistake’ using a private email server and defended her judgment, the moderator, Anderson Cooper of CNN, turned to her biggest threat in the primary campaign so far, Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont, in hopes that he would attack her. Mr. Sanders instead came to her aid.”
John Heilemann (see link in post):
Thank you for posting this bb new meds are making me even slower than usual.
No problem.
A very good description.
Biden is still dithering, apparently.
Allies: Clinton debate not swaying Biden. Some party leaders worry Biden in race would be unwelcome distraction
http://www.kitv.com/politics/sources-clinton-debate-not-swaying-biden/35835650
The Berniebots are really in denial. They think he was gawd incarnate and the media hates his outsider status.
I noticed. It’s kind of sad. In their eyes the only thing Clinton could do to win them over is to grow a penis. They’d rather throw their support to that cranky old man and pretend that he’s “edgy”.
It’s the same weird deliria that hit the early Obama supporters. Bernie’s lack of preparation really showed. Martin OMalley was better prepared. I just got tired of his answering every question we did that in Maryland.
Politico said only 8% of the insiders they interviewed thought Bernie did well.
Yea. The Bernie people only point to a Salon article and they evidently swamped reader polls. They’re not happy from what I can tell.
If reader polls mattered, Ron Paul would have been president twice. LOL
Yeah, the Bernieites and the GOP Hillary Haters freeped every online poll on the internet. You know the polls that stress that the results are “Not Scientific”. And the Drudge online poll had her being beat by Sanders & Webb. When I read that this morning I almost spit my coffee out in disbelief. Closet case Drudge and His House of Hillary Haters freeped that poll so hard it had abrasions.
Yes but the Berniebots are flaming the comments sections of all of the online publications claiming media bias for Clinton when it’s clear to them that Bernie won. I chalk a large part of it to Republican operatives but the Bernie loyalists are remaining steadfast. I wonder where they will go when Clinton secures the nomination?
Media bias FOR Clinton? OMG! Hahahahahahahaha!
Funniest thing I’ve heard in years!
I know! And in the NYT of all places!
Oh that is ridiculously laughable!
Vote for Clinton or stay home seething – which wouldn’t be good for Clinton, either.
Most of them won’t vote for Hillary, especially since a lot of them are Libertarians and former Ron Paul voters.
My friends who are for Bernie are saying he won the debate. They’re the same people who thought Obama was The One in 2008 and who started slamming him after he got in and couldn’t perform miracles.
Yup.
And I’m loathe to comment on her appearance because her look has been dissected far too much, but she looked stunning last night.
I thought so too.
Ain’t it the truth. On top of the best debate performance I’ve ever seen by anyone, she looked absolutely gorgeous!
I listened over the radio so that I wouldn’t get distracted by looks. 🙂
She looked great and standing next to Bernie made her look younger. I personally don’t care about her looks, but there are a lot of people who do. She was absolutely fabulous.
From Vox, a very good assessment by Matthew Yglesias:
Along the same line and for education purpose, this is a spectacular primer on the Glass-Steagall Act from Neil Irwin.
What Is Glass-Steagall? The 82-Year-Old Banking Law That Stirred the Debate
There is a lot of anger about those two. However, BofA had just taken on Countrywide and uncovered the depth of the financial depravity there. They got a big bite taken out of them. I always wondered whether if they had gone down, the mortgage crisis would have been worse.
Citigroup were not wonderful, but they tried to earn back points by holding, along with UAE, (With whom Citi has a close association.) Yemen, and if I remember right, Qatar but maybe it was Kuwait, our US loans until the worst of the crisis was past. That tells you something about being too big to fail, and also who our International friends are.
An example of their association is:
Click to access treasury_uae.pdf
The depravity of Countrywide wasn’t a secret, it just wasn’t a subject for polite company by the media. Million dollar salaries were handed out like stirs at a Starbucks. The bank had an air force that would rival most third world countries. Your use of depravity is absolutely on point — I would only suggest that it was also criminal. At one point Countrywide had over 460 different loan products being sold by boiler rooms to unsuspecting homeowners.
If you are so inclined, “All the Devils Are Here,” is a great book by Bethany McLean and Joe Nocera. Best book on the run up to the financial crisis I’ve read.
https://books.google.com/books/about/All_the_Devils_Are_Here.html?id=8tGsDQjEaXoC&printsec=frontcover&source=kp_read_button&hl=en#v=onepage&q&f=false
Thanks, Prolix, it’s always good to remind ourselves of these things. I’ll look it up.
I watched the debate last night while playing with my two year old granddaughter. I fear she may wonder about my sanity seeing as how I became somewhat excited watching Hillary taking names and kicking ass. 🙂
Just think by the time your granddaughter is aware of politics, a woman president won’t be unheard of. Lucky girl!
I liked Dana Milbank’s article until I read that Hillary “was a man among boys.”
No, Dana you dumbass, Hillary was much more than that; she was a woman among men.
By the way, Dana, you have a girl’s name-ha ha ha.
Yeah, that was pretty dumb.
https://scorchedearthnews.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/it-looks-like-jeb-bush-is-about-to-drop-out/
What do y’all think of that?
Whoa! Trump should be bellowing about that any minute now. Trump is in Richmond. The local NBC affiliate is live streaming the event but I can’t force myself to watch it.
What a ham handed attempt at a dirty trick. I’ll do my best Trump, “Jeb! is a looooooser!”
http://www.bloombergview.com/articles/2015-10-14/debate-gave-sanders-a-chance-to-make-clinton-soar
Great compilation of articles; finally some positive press, even if grudging in some instances.
I’ll always give Sanders credit for having the decency to put a stop to the email thing. Someone else would have taken advantage, made some comments about judgment or security; kept it going, and gotten the headline the media wanted to provide. But Sanders does care about actual issues, and knows that it is very important that the Democratic Party win the election. Let’s hope that he and the other Hillary opponents continue to talk about real issues as the campaign continues.
I never watch the national news but I wanted to see what G.E. wanted me to think about the debate so I tuned to NBC. Well, Clinton dropped the ball. According to NBC Bernie showed what a nice guy he was by defending Clinton on the email thing that that biatch didn’t return the favor. Instead of giving him a pass on his stance on guns, she went after him like the meany from meanville that she is. So there. G.E. thinks that Bernie was the classy guy and Hillz wasn’t nice to him in return. Win for Bernie.
I’m reminded all over again why I never watch the national news.
Wasn’t the gun discussion before the e-mail thing?
It was.
It seemed their point was that she had a chance to be nice and didn’t take it but when it was Bernie’s turn, he did. Not that she should have been nice in response to his gesture. I see where I wrote “in return” but that wasn’t what was in the story. Sorry I screwed that up.
You didn’t screw it up. It was completely unfair. The media mostly is unfair to Hillary.
I thought Hillary was generally pretty nice to Bernie. And he made a real sexist jab at her that no one seems to be talking about. After she talked about guns in a generally normal tone of voice, he said something like “you can yell all you want…” And he was yelling when he said it!
Also, why didn’t any of the men say anything when Hillary made her impassioned speech about the Republican war on women?
http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/10/14/hillary-clinton-goes-full-khaleesi-sets-the-cnn-debate-stage-on-fire.html?via=desktop&source=facebook
Hah! Khaleesi is coming to Westeros! I was making the same point today that good as she was, she benefitted from the weakness of the others. O’Malley looked rehearsed, something Clinton is often criticized for, Sanders came across as strident, another standard criticism of Clinton, Webb was crazy conservative, and Chafee well, I could go on and on. She looked great, but the rest of them made her look even better.
😀
It’s true, and she would have done just as well if Biden had been there, IMO.
http://www.oann.com/dncdebate/ poll that says 62% think Hillary won. Actually scientific too!
Oh yes, definitely.